Founded in 2008 by the Pictet Group, the Prix Pictet has become the world’s leading award for photography and sustainability. To date, there have been nine cycles of the award each of which has highlighted a particular facet of sustainability. The nine themes are Water, Earth, Growth, Power, Consumption, Disorder, Space, Hope and Fire. The theme for the tenth cycle of the award will be announced in late 2022.

Entry to the award is strictly by nomination. The network of nominators worldwide (currently numbering 300) have, over the course of the eight cycles, nominated 4,700 artists for the award. Taken together the nominated works present a powerful testament to the fragile state of our planet.

Since 2008 the nine cycles of the Prix Pictet have been shown in exhibitions in many major cities of the world with visitor numbers of over 650,000.

The Prix Pictet is an award of 100,000 CHF given to the photographer who, in the opinion of the independent jury, has produced a series of work that is both artistically outstanding and presents a compelling narrative related to the theme of the award. The nine Prix Pictet winners are Benoit Aquin, Nadav Kander, Mitch Epstein, Luc Delahaye, Michael Schmidt, Valérie Belin, Richard Mosse, Joana Choumali and Sally Mann.

For each cycle of the Prix Pictet, a book has been published and distributed worldwide. Each book showcases the work the shortlisted photographers as well as powerful images produced by a selection of the other nominated photographers.

Image for PP home on Asia website - 2 women

About Prix Pictet

Governance, Process, Advisory Board and Nominators

Learn more
Prix Pictet - Image for PP home

Cycles of the Prix Pictet

Since it has been launched in 2008, nine editions of the Prix Pictet have been organised. The winner of the ninth edition — Fire — was announced in December 2021.

Learn more
To follow Prix Pictet use the WeChat App and scan this QR-code.