莎莉·曼获百达摄影奖“火”:世界前沿摄影奖项

获奖系列探索笼罩在弗吉尼亚州大迪斯默尔沼泽的毁灭性野火

关注摄影和可持续发展的国际前沿奖项百达摄影奖宣布,第九届“火”主题的获奖者为美国摄影师莎莉·曼(Sally Mann)。


莎莉·曼的 “黑水”(Blackwater)系列作品探索笼罩在弗吉尼亚州大迪斯默尔沼泽的毁灭性野火,大迪斯默尔沼泽是一个遍布蛇、捕食者、昆虫和茂密树叶的危险地形,也曾是黑奴逃亡之地。在作品中,莎莉.曼以镜头拍下她到访期间笼罩着沼泽的大火和浓烟,这似乎是美国种族冲突的缩影。

Sally Mann - Winner 9th Prix Pictet 'Fire'

© 莎莉.曼,黑水系列2008-2012年

评选结果于2021年12月15日在伦敦维多利亚和阿尔伯特博物馆举行的颁奖典礼上宣布,入围奖项的12位摄影艺术家的精选作品展览同时于博物馆开幕,他们的作品以不同的视角诠释本届奖项的主题“火”。

 

“自我们设立百达摄影奖以来的12年里,地球生命面临的两大威胁——过度资源枯竭和破坏性的气候变化——一直在加剧。”

瑞士百达集团高级管理合伙人彭礼诺(Renaud de Planta)

 

百达摄影奖“火”主题的入围摄影师:

⦁    乔安娜·哈吉-托马斯及哈利尔·乔雷吉, 于法国生活和工作
⦁    川内伦子, 于日本生活和工作
⦁    莎莉·曼,于美国生活和工作
⦁    克利斯蒂安·马克雷,于英国生活和工作
⦁    法布里斯·蒙泰罗,于塞内加尔生活和工作
⦁    丽莎·奥本海默,于美国生活和工作
⦁    迈克·莱米萨,于柬埔寨生活和工作
⦁    卡拉·里皮,于墨西哥生活和工作
⦁    马克·卢维德尔,于美国生活和工作
⦁    布伦特·斯特顿,于美国生活和工作
⦁    大卫·乌泽朱可夫,于美国和比利时生活和工作
⦁    横田大辅,于日本生活和工作

百达摄影奖播客第三季:权力

“火”主题也在今天推出了百达摄影奖播客A Lens on Sustainability的第三个系列,此系列汇集全球的创作者、思想家和摄影师,共同探讨摄影和可持续发展议题。本季的合作者和演讲嘉宾包括Taryn Simon, Peter Frankopan, Brent Stirton和 Herminia Ibarra等。

可通过以下平台收听播客:

浏览百达摄影奖网站,以了解更多详情

往届展览精选

九届百达摄影奖展览已在世界各地的主要城市举办巡展。

Water exhibition image

首届瑞士百达摄影奖以“水”为主题。通过对水的观察,我们可以发现气候变化最初始和最具破坏性的表现,它对生态系统、粮食供应、身体健康、人类赖以生存的土地,乃至人类的和平与安全都会带来威胁。

“水”获奖及入围摄影作品展已于巴黎、迪拜、希腊塞萨洛尼基、伦敦、香港、埃因霍温、德累斯顿、波恩、日内瓦等全球多地展出。

图注:“水”展览于香港交易广场中央大厅展览现场,2009年3月12日-19日

Earth exhibition

地球

第二届瑞士百达摄影奖以“地球”为主题。“地球”指人类所在的星球和足下的土地,也指土地表面留下的印记——或为直接印记,如地雷、有毒废物、破碎的城市荒地、巨大的垃圾场、荒芜的沙漠景观,或为间接印记,如历经火灾、洪水、饥荒、地震、山体滑坡、火山爆发等灾害后的大地,以及人类迁徙留下的足迹。

“地球”获奖及入围摄影作品展已于巴黎、希腊塞萨洛尼基、迪拜、都柏林、德国波恩、莫斯科、柏林、米兰、马德里、新德里等全球多地展出。

图注:“地球”展览于巴黎Galerie Les Filles de Calvaire展览现场,2010年11月12日-27日

Growth exhibition

增长

第三届瑞士百达摄影奖以“增长”为主题。各种形式的增长是福也是祸,它是人类在21世纪前叶所面临的一个重大难题。增长,改善了世界各地无数民众的生活和健康;同时也给环境带来了严重威胁,包括让人眼花缭乱的城市扩张、对稀缺自然资源的日益依赖,以及人口的不断增长、人们对养家糊口需求的增加。

“增长”获奖及入围摄影作品展已于巴黎、希腊塞萨洛尼基、米兰、苏黎世、杜塞尔多夫、马德里、圣地亚哥、华盛顿、都柏林、贝鲁特、阿姆斯特丹、香港等全球多地展出。

图注:“增长”展览于米兰Galleria Carla Sozzani展览现场,2011年6月9日-7月31日

Power exhibition

权力

第四届瑞士百达摄影奖以“权力”为主题。这一主题内涵丰富,充满矛盾:它既孕育着希望,也透露出绝望。“权力”主题的摄影作品揭示了人类于自然之间的生存斗争,和面对人类所造成的破坏、社会权力的冲突以及当今世界权力的二元对立现状的绝望之感。

“权力”获奖及入围摄影作品展已于伦敦、慕尼黑、阿姆斯特丹、巴黎、布达佩斯、伊斯坦布尔、都柏林、特拉维夫、纽约、圣地亚哥、苏黎世等全球多地展出。

图注:“权力”展览于荷兰Huis Marseille Museum展览现场,2013年3月23日-6月16日

Consumption exhibition

消费

第五届瑞士百达摄影奖以“消费”为主题。这一主题关乎瑞士百达摄影奖的核心使命,即让全世界关注当今人类所面临的最大挑战——环境可持续问题。

这是一个包罗万象的主题,具有丰富的创作潜力。人人都是消费者。我们创造了新型建筑、工业生产、农业、能源;为了满足自身不可抑制的欲望,我们耗尽了海洋,摧毁了土地。我们建立起庞大的奢侈品王国,让自己萌生对所谓“必需品”的需求,而连我们自己也不知其是否必需。这一切的背后,可能是对世上最贫穷民众的剥削。

“消费”获奖及入围摄影作品展已于伦敦、巴塞罗那、希腊塞萨洛尼基、都灵、苏黎世、卢森堡、慕尼黑、墨西哥、迪拜、布鲁塞尔、都柏林、黎巴嫩贝鲁特、东京等全球多地展出。

图注:
“消费”展览于比利时布鲁塞尔CAB Art Center展览现场,2015年2月25日-3月21日

Disorder exhibition

混乱

第六届瑞士百达摄影奖以“混乱”为主题。科菲·安南在《混乱》作品集的序言中写道:“事物的自然秩序正在被颠覆。人类对地球所造成的威胁随处可见,这种威胁源于人类对碳能源的依赖、对无限增产的盲目追求。我们试图建立秩序,却发现混乱几乎无处不在。日子一天天过去,我们对秩序的幻想也一一破灭。”

“混乱”获奖及入围摄影作品展已于伦敦、罗马、布鲁塞尔、日内瓦、苏黎世、雅典、莫斯科、东京、都柏林、汉堡、圣地亚哥、巴塞罗那等全球多地展出。

图注:“混乱”展览于比利时布鲁塞尔CAB Art Center展览现场,2016年2月26日-3月26日

Space exhibition

空间

第七届瑞士百达摄影奖以“空间”为主题。“空间”具有广泛的意义,从人口过剩、领土争端、空气污染、网络空间、风传疾病、飓风,至地球广袤荒野的脆弱性,以及人类热衷于用垃圾等诸多事物填充各类空间等多元议题,均可涉猎。

“空间”获奖及入围摄影作品展已于伦敦、东京、苏黎世、莫斯科、斯图加特、墨西哥、都灵、布鲁塞尔、洛桑、伊斯坦布尔、纽约、都柏林等全球多地巡展。

图注:“空间”展览于墨西哥现代艺术博物馆展览现场,2018年3月2日-4月22日

Hope exhibition image

希望

第八届瑞士百达摄影奖以“希望”为主题。逆境当前,依然潜藏着希望——回收资源,重新造林,再度野生化,促进科学与医学发展,通过前沿技术解决全球环境问题,减少贫困。当下我们应该把目光聚焦于可持续发展领域兴起的积极行动,而非只是像国际媒体那样以骇人的分析,不断给民众带来冲击。

“希望”获奖及入围摄影作品展已于伦敦、东京、苏黎世、莫斯科、洛桑、维罗纳、特拉维夫、蒙地卡罗、米兰、都柏林、上海和北京等全球多地巡展。

图注:“希望”展览于日本东京Hillside Forum展览现场,2019年12月12日-28日

Fire award ceremony exhibition image

百达摄影奖的第九届主题为“火”。自从2019年初巴黎圣母院被大火吞噬以来,关于火灾的新闻报导层出不穷。我们目睹了亚马逊地区创纪录的雨林野火、澳大利亚丛林大火以及加州肆虐的大火。火是五行中的第四个元素,既能摧毁万物,又能使万物重生。火代表生存、重生和经济繁荣。然而, 我们滥用这一反复无常的元素,也正是导致大多数环境问题的根源。

“火”获奖及入围摄影作品展已于伦敦、东京等地展出,并将巡展至苏黎世和莫斯科等地。

图注:“火” 颁奖典礼及展览于伦敦维多利亚和阿尔伯特博物馆现场,2021年12月15日-2022年1月9日

Sally Mann wins Prix Pictet ‘Fire’: World’s top photography prize

Prize-winning series explores the devastating wildfires in the Great Dismal Swamp in Virginia

Photographer Sally Mann has been announced the winner of the ninth cycle of the Prix Pictet, the global award in photography and sustainability, on the theme of ‘Fire’.

For her series Blackwater, Mann explored the Great Dismal Swamp in Virginia, a dangerous terrain slithering with snakes, predators, insects and heavy foliage, that many escaped slaves travelled through towards freedom. Mann documented the vast fires and thick smoke that consumed the swamp during her visit and which seemed to epitomise the great fire of racial strife in America.

Sally Mann - Winner 9th Prix Pictet 'Fire'

© Sally Mann, Blackwater series 2008-2012

The announcement was made at a ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on Wednesday 15 December 2021, marking the opening of a major exhibition showcasing the twelve series of powerful photographs shortlisted for the prize. The shortlisted bodies of work all explore the topical theme of ‘Fire’, which has been the focus of this cycle of the award.

 

“In the twelve years since we launched the award, two of the greatest threats to life on the planet—excess resource depletion and damaging climate change—have only intensified.”

Renaud de Planta, Senior Managing Partner of the Pictet Group

 

The shortlisted photographers for Prix Pictet ‘Fire’ are:

  • Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, live and work in France 
  • Rinko Kawauchi, lives and works in Japan
  • Sally Mann, lives and works in the USA
  • Christian Marclay, lives and works in the United Kingdom
  • Fabrice Monteiro, lives and works in Senegal
  • Lisa Oppenheim, lives and works in the USA
  • Mak Remissa, lives and works in Cambodia
  • Carla Rippey, lives and works in Mexico 
  • Mark Ruwedel, lives and works in the USA
  • Brent Stirton, lives and works in the USA
  • David Uzochukwu, lives and works in the USA and Belgium
  • Daisuke Yokota, lives and works in Japan

Prix Pictet Podcast Season 3: Power

The announcement of ‘Fire’ also launched the release of the third series of the Prix Pictet podcast A Lens on Sustainability, which is released today, brings together global creators, thinkers and photographers to discuss photography and sustainability. Collaborators and guest speakers this season include Taryn Simon, Peter Frankopan, Brent Stirton, and Herminia Ibarra, among others.

The podcast is available via

Find out more on Prix Pictet website

Past exhibitions highlights

The nine cycles of the Prix Pictet have been shown in exhibitions in many major cities of the world.

Water exhibition image

Water

The theme of the inaugural Prix Pictet was “Water”. It is, after all, through water that we are able to see the earliest and most devastating manifestations of climate change: threats to our food supply, to our health, to fragile ecosystems, to the ground on which we live and even to our peace and security.

“Water” exhibition has been toured in Paris, Thessaloniki, Dubai, London, Hong Kong, Eindhoven, Dresden, Bonn and Geneva.

Image caption: Water exhibition at The Rotunda, Exchange Square, Hong Kong. 12 – 19 Mar 2009

Earth exhibition

Earth

The theme of the second cycle of the Prix Pictet was “Earth”. Earth refers to the planet and the soil beneath our feet, to the marks that makes on the face of the land – either directly through the creation of mines, toxic waste, broken urban wastelands, vast refuse dumps and blasted desert landscapes; or indirectly, through the scars left by fire, flood or famine and the impact of natural disasters such as earthquakes, landslides and volcanoes or the migration of displaced people.

“Earth” exhibition was toured in Paris, Thessaloniki, Dubai, Dublin, Bonn, Moscow, Berlin, Milan, Madrid and New Delhi.

Image caption: Earth exhibition at Galerie Les Filles de Calvaire, Paris. 12 – 27 Nov 2010

Growth exhibition

Growth

The theme for the third cycle of the Prix Pictet was “Growth”. At once a blessing and a curse, Growth, in all its forms, presents one of the great conundrums facing humanity in the early decades of the twenty-first century. Growth improves living standards and health for untold millions around the world. From the dizzying expansion of our cities and their ever increasing dependency on scarce natural resources, to the relentless growth of populations and the need to feed ourselves, growth threatens environmental catastrophe.

“Growth” exhibition was toured in Paris, Thessaloniki, Milan, Zurich, Düsseldorf, Madrid, San Diego, Washington, Dublin, Beirut, Amsterdam and Hong Kong.

Image caption: Growth exhibition at Galleria Carla Sozzani, Milan. 9 June – 31 June 2011

Power exhibition

Power

The theme of the fourth cycle of the Prix Pictet was “Power”. As a theme Power is vast and paradoxical; it embraces hope and despair in equal measure. The works reveal the struggle for survival between humankind and nature, our despair in the face of the damage we have caused, social power conflicts, and the dichotomies of power in our world today with its invasions and revolts.

“Power” exhibition has been toured in London, Munich, Amsterdam, Paris, Budapest, Istanbul, Dublin, Tel Aviv, San Diego and Zurich.

Image caption: Power exhibition at Huis Marseille Museum, Netherlands. 23 Mar – 16 June 2013

Consumption exhibition

Consumption

The theme of the fifth cycle of the Prix Pictet is “Consumption”. Consumption lies at the heart of the Prix Pictet’s mission to bring global attention to what we believe is the greatest challenge facing humankind today: the issue of environmental sustainability.

It is a multi-faceted theme that is rich with creative potential. We are all consumers. We have invented new forms of building, industrial production, farming and energy; we have emptied the seas and ravaged the land in our relentless drive to satisfy our unquenchable desires. We have built vast empires based on luxury goods, creating demand for essentials that we didn’t know we needed. We have sustained this through the sometimes thoughtless exploitation of the world’s poorest people.

“Consumption” exhibition was toured in London, Barcelona, Thessaloniki, Turin, Zurich, Luxemburg, Munich, Mexico, Dubai, Brussels, Dublin, Beirut and Tokyo.

Image caption: Consumption exhibition at CAB Art Center in Brussels. 25 Feb – 21 Mar 2015

Disorder exhibition

Disorder

The theme of the sixth cycle of the Prix Pictet photography prize is “Disorder”. In his introduction to the book, Disorder, Kofi Annan writes, “The natural order of things is being overturned. Everywhere we find signs of the threat that humanity poses to the planet, the consequence of our addiction to carbon-based energy and our blind belief in limitless rises in production. Our attempts to impose order simply draws attention to the pervasive disorder. With each passing day our illusion of order is shattered.”

“Disorder” exhibition has toured in London, Rome, Brussels, Geneva, Zurich, Athens, Moscow, Tokyo, Dublin, Hamburg, San Diego and Barcelona.

Image caption: Disorder exhibition at CAB Art Center in Brussels. 26 Feb – 26 Mar 2016

Space exhibition

Space

The theme for the seventh cycle of the Prix Pictet is “Space”. It is a deliberately broad theme that could embrace subjects as diverse as overpopulation, territorial dispute, air pollution, cyber space, wind borne diseases, hurricanes, as well the fragility of the planet’s great wildernesses and our tendency to fill space – from the oceans to outer space – with junk and many things besides.

“Space” exhibition was toured globally, include London, Tokyo, Zurich, Moscow, Stuttgart, Mexico, Turin, Brussels, Lausanne, Istanbul, New York, Dublin.

Image caption: Space exhibition at Museum of Modern Art, Mexico City. 2 Mar – 22 Apr 2018

Hope exhibition image

Hope

The theme for the eighth cycle of the Prix Pictet was “Hope”. Hope in the face of adversity. Recycling. Reforestation. Rewilding. Science – advances in medicine – and technological solutions for global environmental problems. Falling poverty levels. It is time to examine some of the positive actions on sustainability that are beginning to emerge by contrast with the alarming analysis that constantly assails us in the global media.

“Hope” exhibition was toured globally in London, Tokyo, Zurich, Moscow, Lausanne, Verona, Tel Aviv, Monte Carlo, Milan, Dublin, Shanghai and Beijing. 

Image caption: Hope exhibition at Hillside Forum, Tokyo. 12 – 28 Dec 2019

Fire award ceremony exhibition image

Fire

The theme for the ninth cycle of the Prix Pictet was “Fire”. Fire has hardly been out of the news since the inferno that consumed Notre-Dame in Paris in early 2019. We have seen record rain forest blazes in the Amazon first, bush fires in Australia and conflagrations in California. Fire means survival, renewal and economic prosperity; it destroys as it renews. Yet our abuse of this most capricious of elements is the source of most of our environmental woes. 

The “Fire” exhibition has been toured in Tokyo, Lonond and will continue to be shown in Zurich and Moscow, among other venues.

Image caption: Fire award ceremony, exhibition at the V&A Museum, London. 15 Dec 2021 - 9 Jan 2022